Best settings Quake 3 Arena 4K, HD, UWQHD, 200FPS!

User's Guides & Help forum.
TERMINATOR T666
User lv2
User lv2
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2023 14:27

Best settings Quake 3 Arena 4K, HD, UWQHD, 200FPS!

Post by TERMINATOR T666 »

Enjoy QUAKE 3 ARENA in the best settings!

1 issue i have:
When somebody connects to the game i get always a small hickup. Do more people have that problem?

4K or 8K is possible!!!!! type this in your console in quake 3 arena (~)


SETTINGS 4K:
\r_fullscreen 1
\r_mode -1
\r_customwidth 4096
\r_customheight 2160
\com_maxfps 200
\vid_restart

SETTINGS HD:
\r_fullscreen 1
\r_mode -1
\r_customwidth 1920
\r_customheight 1080
\com_maxfps 200
\vid_restart

SETTINGS UWQHD
\r_fullscreen 1
\r_mode -1
\r_customwidth 3440
\r_customheight 1440
\vid_restart
\com_maxfps 200
\vid_restart

FOV:
\seta cg_fov 120
or what you prefer.

Is your screen realy dark use these settings:
r_gamma 1.35
r_intensity 1.6
r_overbrightbits 0
\vid_restart

brightness:
seta r_ignorehwgamma 0
seta r_intensity 1
seta r_overBrightBits 1
seta r_gamma 1

Name colors:
,^1 = red , ^2 = green , ^3 = yellow , ^4 = blue , ^5 = ligth blue , ^6 = pink then ^9 makes red and ^7,^8, ^0 makes white.

You know more good settings, tell me!

See here gameplay.
https://www.youtube.com/@quake3junkie/
User avatar
uZu
User lv4
User lv4
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 14:55
in-game nick: uZu
Location: France

Re: Best settings Quake 3 Arena 4K, HD, UWQHD, 200FPS!

Post by uZu »

When somebody connects to the game i get always a small hickup.

Use the cvar cg_deferPlayers, ie put in your config:
seta cg_deferPlayers "1"
to prevent lag when someone is connecting with a model not already loaded
TERMINATOR T666
User lv2
User lv2
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2023 14:27

Re: Best settings Quake 3 Arena 4K, HD, UWQHD, 200FPS!

Post by TERMINATOR T666 »

uZu wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2024 14:56 When somebody connects to the game i get always a small hickup.

Use the cvar cg_deferPlayers, ie put in your config:
seta cg_deferPlayers "1"
to prevent lag when someone is connecting with a model not already loaded
Superrrrrrrrrr!! Thanks man! iam gonna try it tonight!
PacMan
User lv5
User lv5
Posts: 1111
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 16:09
in-game nick: PacMan.EZ
Location: u.k

Re: Best settings Quake 3 Arena 4K, HD, UWQHD, 200FPS!

Post by PacMan »

TERMINATOR T666 wrote: Mon Apr 01, 2024 15:01 Enjoy QUAKE 3 ARENA in the best settings!

1 issue i have:
When somebody connects to the game i get always a small hickup. Do more people have that problem?

4K or 8K is possible!!!!! type this in your console in quake 3 arena (~)


SETTINGS 4K:
\r_fullscreen 1
\r_mode -1
\r_customwidth 4096
\r_customheight 2160
\com_maxfps 200
\vid_restart

SETTINGS HD:
\r_fullscreen 1
\r_mode -1
\r_customwidth 1920
\r_customheight 1080
\com_maxfps 200
\vid_restart

SETTINGS UWQHD
\r_fullscreen 1
\r_mode -1
\r_customwidth 3440
\r_customheight 1440
\vid_restart
\com_maxfps 200
\vid_restart

FOV:
\seta cg_fov 120
or what you prefer.

Is your screen realy dark use these settings:
r_gamma 1.35
r_intensity 1.6
r_overbrightbits 0
\vid_restart

brightness:
seta r_ignorehwgamma 0
seta r_intensity 1
seta r_overBrightBits 1
seta r_gamma 1

Name colors:
,^1 = red , ^2 = green , ^3 = yellow , ^4 = blue , ^5 = ligth blue , ^6 = pink then ^9 makes red and ^7,^8, ^0 makes white.

You know more good settings, tell me!

See here gameplay.
https://www.youtube.com/@quake3junkie/
I used to get this allot seems to have disappeared after using different pc not sure why tho, and yes was always saying default mod could not be loaded or something
marcofreeman
User lv1
User lv1
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2024 11:32

Re: Best settings Quake 3 Arena 4K, HD, UWQHD, 200FPS!

Post by marcofreeman »

Your tips helped me untie many knots. Thanks for this support
TERMINATOR T666
User lv2
User lv2
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2023 14:27

Re: Best settings Quake 3 Arena 4K, HD, UWQHD, 200FPS!

Post by TERMINATOR T666 »

marcofreeman wrote: Fri Apr 12, 2024 11:36 Your tips helped me untie many knots. Thanks for this support
Iam glad it helped you.. i searched also long for good settings myself.. for this realy old (but still so good) game.. hehe.. :mrgreen:
TERMINATOR T666
User lv2
User lv2
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2023 14:27

Re: Best settings Quake 3 Arena 4K, HD, UWQHD, 200FPS!

Post by TERMINATOR T666 »

How can i run the unfreeze client @adminless with normal caracters (models) ? is there a posibility ?

PLEASE HELP ME!! :roll:
PacMan
User lv5
User lv5
Posts: 1111
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 16:09
in-game nick: PacMan.EZ
Location: u.k

Re: Best settings Quake 3 Arena 4K, HD, UWQHD, 200FPS!

Post by PacMan »

TERMINATOR T666 wrote: Fri Apr 12, 2024 19:24 How can i run the unfreeze client @adminless with normal caracters (models) ? is there a posibility ?

PLEASE HELP ME!! :roll:
You mean without the green?
RH
User lv4
User lv4
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2022 23:43

Re: Best settings Quake 3 Arena 4K, HD, UWQHD, 200FPS!

Post by RH »

Don't use com_maxfps 200 in quake3. You will literally be slower than other people. Use either 125, 250, or 333. Do not use any other values.
TERMINATOR T666
User lv2
User lv2
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2023 14:27

Re: Best settings Quake 3 Arena 4K, HD, UWQHD, 200FPS!

Post by TERMINATOR T666 »

PacMan wrote: Fri Apr 12, 2024 19:40
TERMINATOR T666 wrote: Fri Apr 12, 2024 19:24 How can i run the unfreeze client @adminless with normal caracters (models) ? is there a posibility ?

PLEASE HELP ME!! :roll:
You mean without the green?
Yes !!!! Its so ugly. I know its better to see your enemy, but it looks so dumb. Haha.. ;-)
User avatar
adminless
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5262
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 19:05
in-game nick: not available
Location: Spain

Re: Best settings Quake 3 Arena 4K, HD, UWQHD, 200FPS!

Post by adminless »

I think I posted that before not so long ago around here, \cg_forceskin 0, disable the all green enemies which is the recommendation.